Jury European Edition

Marcus Miller (Jury Chairman)

Marcus Miller
World-renowned jazz bassist and multi-instrumentalist Marcus Miller has been a considerable force in the music industry for the past 40 years. Miller is a two-time Grammy award winner, an appointed UNESCO Artist For Peace and the recipient of various international achievement awards including the Edison Award For Lifetime Achievement in Jazz; the Victoire du Jazz in France and the 2019 Principality of Monaco’s Cultural Merit of Distinction recipient. Miller is one of the most influential bass players in jazz, R&B, fusion and soul. He has worked with Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, David Sanborn, George Benson, Luther Vandross, David Bowie, Eric Clapton, Herbie Hancock, Wynton Marsalis, Roberta Flack, Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, Bill Withers and many more. Miller is also a prolific artist and band leader in his own right with well over a dozen solo albums released under his name. He is the host of Miller Time, a weekly Jazz show on SiriusXM in the USA.

Imogen Tilden

Imogen Tilden is senior arts editor at The Guardian where her role
includes writing and commissioning music coverage across jazz,
classical, world and folk. In addition she also commissions and edits
content about photography, visual art & architecture, theatre and
film. Imogen has been at The Guardian for 20 years, previous roles have
included Live Reviews editor, Travel editor and Online Arts editor.
Imogen Tilden

Alex Dutilh

Alex Dutilh
Alex Dutilh has made a career as a tv host, author, editor, journalist,
photographer, festival director, committee chairman and now has his
daily radio show France Musique. Between 1972 and 2007, Alex worked as a
journalist and broadcaster for the renowned ‘Jazz Hot’ magazine and
‘France Musique’. In addition, he was the editor for the monthly
‘Jazzman’ magazine in France. In 2017 he won the ‘Victoire du Jazz’
award (French Grammy) for best jazz journalist in France. Alex’s current
show on France Musique – OPEN JAZZ d’Alex Dutilh sur France Musique’ –
is broadcast daily between 6 and 7 pm.

Previous Jury Members

Terri Lyne Carrington

Terri Lyne Carrington is a 3 time Grammy Award winning drummer, producer
and educator. She made history as the first woman to win a Grammy for
Best Instrumental Jazz Album in 2013 and she is the founder and artistic
director of the Berklee Institute for Jazz and Gender Justice. Besides
her own releases she has also recorded and toured with many jazz
luminaries such as Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Stan Getz and Diana
Krall among others. Testament to her achievements, Terri Lyne has
recently been introduced in the NEA Jazz Masters Hall Of Fame.
Terri Lyne Carrington

Karen Frivik

Karen Frivik
Karen Frivik is a Norwegian jazz journalist. She has followed the
jazzscene since the mid 80’s and has presented jazz in the Norwegian
Broadcasting Corporation (NRK) for more than 20 years. She follows
musicians and festivals in her country and around the globe, and has
interviewed a large number of groundbreaking musicians on this planet.
Karen has a wide field of interest in music, also involving rock and
classical music. In addition, Karen has produced prize winning
documentaries and was asked to be a jury member for Prix Europe –
Europe’s largest annual tri-medial festival and competition.

Wulf Müller

Wulf Mueller is responsible for the revival of theOKeh Records label,
for which he now works as A&R. While studying journalism and
politics in Berlin, Wulf worked at various jazz festivals and opened a
jazz club with his friends, called ‘Miles Smiles’. After having worked
for Polygram in Vienna for 9 years, he moved to London to become
International Director for Jazz Marketing. When Universal Music Group
took over Polygram, Wulf included classical music in his portfolio and
was promoted to V.P. International A&R and Marketing. He then left
Universal in 2010 to start his own music consultancy “Wulf Mueller / All
In Music Service” where he signed a contract with Sony Classical
International to revive the OKeh Records label, signing artists such as
Bill Frisell, Sonny Rollins, Dhafer Youssef and Dee Dee Bridgewater.
Wulf Müller

Jamie Cullum

Jamie Cullum
With nominations for a Grammy, Golden Globe, GQ Man of the Year, Brits
and Sony Radio under his belt, Jamie Cullum is a success story
around the planet. The release of his breakthrough album
‘Twentysomething’ (Universal) made him the fastest- and best-selling
British jazz artist in history. Jamie presents his own award winning
weekly radio show for BBC Radio 2 where he interviews and
features the world’s best jazz artists.

Sébastien Vidal

Sébastien Vidal studied at the American School of Modern Music and
Berklee College of Music. He performed with jazz greats such as Clark
Terry and Al Casey. Sébastien is now the artistic director of
the Nice Jazz Festival, the Django Reinhardt Jazz
Festival and programmer of the Duc Des Lombards in Paris.
In addition, he is the director of TSF Jazz Radio and organizes the
annual TSF Jazz evening ‘You And The Night And The Music’
at L’Olympia.
Sébastien Vidal

Brian Bacchus

Brian Bacchus
Brian Bacchus was an A&R man for Verve, Antilles, RCA and Blue
Note before moving into production and doing stellar work with Randy
Weston, Patricia Barber Jazz Musician and Gregory Porter.
“His A&R work with Norah Jones contributed mightily to her
debut, one of the biggest selling albums in history” writes Michael
Jarrett from PRESSED FOR ALL TIME. Bacchus was producer for Gregory
Porter’s ‘Liquid Spirit’, which was awarded with a Grammy Award for Best
Jazz Vocal Album 2013.

George Benson

10 time Grammy Award winning American artist, guitarist and singer
George Benson is the chairman of the 2019 ‘LetterOne Rising Stars Jazz
Award’ jury. Benson’s recording career began at the age of twenty-one as
a jazz guitarist after which he went on and gained more recognition
being a pop, R&B and scat singer as well. His triple-platinum album
Breezin’ topped the Billboard 200 in 1976 and in 1996, Benson was
awarded a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
George Benson